Search
Types of Violations

Frequently different terms are used when referring to certain traffic violations and/or citations. This page offers some explanation to the different references you may hear regarding your citation.

What is a moving violation?

A moving violation consists of failure to obey certain laws related to the driving and operating of a motor vehicle. Depending on the violation, you may be able to post bail for forfeiture resulting in a conviction reportable to the Department of Motor Vehicles, submit proof of correction, eligible to attend traffic school, post bail for a court trial, or in some instances a mandatory court appearance may be required. You should review your violation information notice or contact the court for your available options prior to the due date as indicated on your citation.

What is Owner's Responsibility?

Certain vehicle violations can be the responsibility of the registered owner rather than the driver. Such violations include those related to registration, equipment, and weight limitations. If a driver has been cited for these violations, the citation may have been marked as “Owner’s Responsibility”. The owner of the vehicle will be mailed a notice to appear. If the owner fails to take action on this notice it may prevent the renewal of the vehicle’s registration.

What is a correctable violation?

If you have been informed by the court you can submit proof of correction for the violation you’ve been cited for, you will be charged a $25.00 proof of correction fee on all Vehicle Code violations that are eligible for proof of correction by the court due on or before you appearance date. Note: Proof of insurance cannot be signed off by law enforcement.

  • Who can sign off my proof of correction citation?
    Proof of corrections can be inspected by the Orange County Sheriff’s Department, California Highway Patrol or other approved law enforcement agencies. Some violations may require a certificate of compliance that must be obtained at any certified light and brake station before arriving at the inspection station. Pollution Control Device violations must be certified by a smog check station licensed by the California Bureau of Automotive Repair.
  • Where can I find the nearest Orange County Sheriff’s Department to sign off my proof of correction citation?
    There are Orange County Sheriff deputies available to perform vehicle inspection at each of the justice centers of the Orange County Superior Court with the exception of Central Justice Center located in Santa Ana. The Orange County Sheriff’s office will charge $15.00 to sign off your proof of correction violation.
  • What type of proof will I have the violation has been signed off?
    The inspection office will sign off the violation you were cited for on the back of the citation. The sign off will include the violation, the officer’s name, agency and badge number. Proof of insurance cannot be signed off by law enforcement.

ADVISEMENT: FRAUDULENT OR ALTERED DOCUMENTATION MAY BE REFERRED TO THE OFFICE OF THE DISTRICT ATTORNEY FOR A FULL INVESTIGATION AND POSSIBLE CRIMINAL PROSECUTION.

What is a red light - photo enforcement violation?
  • About Photo Enforcement Citations:
    • Red light camera citations are issued to the individual listed as the registered owner of the vehicle according to the records of the Department of Motor Vehicles. The citations are issued by vendors under an agreement with city or county government. The citations are mailed by the vendor to the registered owner.
  • Violation information notice:
    • The vendor will notify the registered owner of the vehicle violation including an appearance date. The registered owner may also receive a violation information notice from the court which is mailed to the address listed on the vehicle registration. If a violation information notice is not received, the registered owner must appear or pay the bail by the date listed on the notice from the vendor.
  • Personal Vehicle: If you were not the driver:
    • Do not pay the citation if you intend on reporting the vehicle was driven by someone else.
    • Complete the affidavit of non liability portion contained on the citation to identify the driver of the vehicle.
  • Please return the Affidavit of Non-Liability to the address provided.
  • Upon receipt of the affidavit of non liability, the issuing law enforcement agency will issue a new citation to the person who was identified as the driver.
  • Forward upon your receipt of the citation to allow ample time for notification by the law enforcement agency to the court to avoid failure to appear proceedings against you.
  • Company Car: If you were not the driver:
    • Do not pay the citation if you plan to report the name of the person who was driving the vehicle.
    • If you are the person who will be reporting the name of the person who was driving the vehicle on behalf of the company.
    • Complete the affidavit of non liability portion contained on the citation to identify the driver of the vehicle.
  • Please return the Affidavit of Non-Liability to the address provided.
  • Upon receipt of the affidavit of non liability, the issuing law enforcement agency will issue a new citation to the person who was identified as the driver.
  • Forward upon your receipt of the citation to allow ample time for notification by the law enforcement agency to the court to avoid failure to appear proceedings against you.
  • View the Image of the Violation:
    • If you received a photo enforcement citation, you may be given the opportunity to view the actual violation. To make this request, follow the instructions on the citation or call the following agency telephone number:
      • Costa Mesa Police Department 866-334-2157
      • Fullerton Police Department 866-334-2157
      • Garden Grove Police Department 714-741-5732
      • Laguna Woods Police Services 949-639-0500 or www.photonotice.com
      • Los Alamitos Police Department 562-431-2255
      • San Juan Capistrano Police Services 866-334-2156 or www.viewyourticket.com/TicketViewerCA_SJC
      • Santa Ana Police Department 714-245-8496
© 2014 Superior Court of Orange County