

Superior Court of California County of Orange



Media and Community Relations Office Contact: Carole Levitzky (657) 622-7097 clevitzky@occourts.org

May 15, 2012

2012-2013 Orange County Grand Jury Selected First Female Majority in More than 20 Years

Santa Ana - The 19 members and 10 alternates of the 2012-2013 Orange County Grand Jury were selected today from a drawing held in Dept. C1 of the Central Justice Center.

The composition of the 19 members of the new Grand Jury include 53% females and 47% males, and 26% minorities. The average age of those selected is 66 years old, ranging from 55 to 81.

Canvassing efforts for the Grand Jury members included the following: More than 4,200 applications were mailed to prospective applicants, flyers were distributed to 600 companies and 48 minority organizations, and advertising and articles appeared in newspapers and on the Web. Also, current members of the Grand Jury and the judges of the Grand Jury Recruitment/Selection Committee spoke to organizations and appeared on local television to inform the community of the opportunity to serve on the Grand Jury.

Following the four-day training program, the 19 members will officially take the oath of office and begin their one-year term on July 2, 2012 at 10:00 a.m.in Dept. C1. The names of the 2012-2013 Grand Jury members are attached.

2012- 2013 GRAND JURY

- 1. Jeffrey Love
- 2. Sherrill Huebner
- 3. Nilima Gupta
- 4. Dorothy Allen
- 5. Barbara Cleary
- 6. Linda Trent
- 7. John Rodriguez
- 8. Robert Gene Kent
- 9. Hongyen Bui
- 10. Virginia Zlaket
- 11. Ian Crockett
- 12. Narinder Mahal
- 13. John Costello
- 14. Christine Schaefer
- 15. Raymond Garcia
- 16. Roger M. Prasser
- 17. Dianne Senechal
- 18. Fred Bennett
- 19. Kathleen Conwell-Doyle

GRAND JURY ALTERNATES

- A1 Loren Machart
- A2 Jim Kaczmarek
- A3 Charles Kish
- A4 Morris Binaco
- A5 Willard Garman II
- A6 Michael Colby
- A7 Arlene Hocker
- A8 John Carson
- A9 Paula Herberg
- A10 Tom Marlin