

May 13, 2008

Superior Court of California County of Orange

**NEWS RELEASE** 

Media and Community Relations Office Contact: Carole Levitzky (714) 834-7623 clevitzky@occourts.org

## New 2008-2009 Orange County Grand Jury Selected

Santa Ana - The 19 members and 11 alternates of the 2008-2009 Orange County Grand Jury were selected today from a drawing held in Dept. C1 of the Central Justice Center, 700 Civic Center Drive West, Santa Ana.

The composition of the incoming Grand Jury includes 14 Caucasians, two Hispanics, two African-Americans; 10 males and 9 females. The average age of those selected is 69 years old, ranging from 51 to 81.

Canvassing efforts for Grand Jury members included the following: More than 3,000 applications were mailed to prospective applicants, and flyers were distributed to 1,190 companies and 111 minority organizations, and advertising and articles in newspapers and on the Web. Also, current members of the Grand Jury and the Grand Jury Recruitment/Selection Committee spoke to organizations and appeared on local television and radio programs to inform the community of the opportunity to serve on the Grand Jury.

Following a six-day training program, the 19 members will officially take the oath of office and begin their one-year term on July 1, 2008 at 10:00 a.m. in Dept. C1. The names of the 2008-2009 Grand Jury members are attached.

## 2008/2009 GRAND JURY

- 1. Robert Beardsley
- 2. Darlene Hibbs
- 3. Allen Layne
- 4. Ivan McKinney
- 5. Michael Dresser
- 6. Cathey Bertot
- 7. Marilyn Reardon
- 8. Terry Fleskes
- 9. Donald Hauptman
- 10. Phalba Henderson
- 11. Gloria Wildman
- 12. Iola Gallardo
- 13. Ella Nixon
- 14. James Perez
- 15. Linda Hudak
- 16. Janet Buell
- 17. Charles Holt
- 18. John Collins
- 19. Abel Barboza

## **GRAND JURY ALTERNATES**

- 1. Donald Stone
- 2. Richard Wall
- 3. Richard Fisher
- 4. William Norwine
- 5. Donald Lauda
- 6. Mary Wells
- 7. Dennis Bean
- 8. Delane Thyen
- 9. Robin Bowen
- 10. Edward Andrade
- 11. Stuart Fuller